Life Matters

Strange as it seems, while reading many end of life stories and blogs about people and their life changes. I received a diagnosis myself which was kind of out of the blue. I was told by a women over the phone that I had an SCC IS. I wondered if she realised what that meant to me. It seemed so matter of fact for her. You will need to come in she said, she didn’t explain what it meant or the extent of the diagnosis, nor did I ask any further questions. I was blown away.

I couldn’t believe my ears, SCC? how on earth did that happen?

I was sure it was a BCC, being a nurse I have seen the end result of many Squamous Cell Carcinomas perhaps it makes the diagnosis worse. I was telling the story to a friend and he said that he had had many cancer’s removed off his head. When I asked what type, he had absolutely no idea.

How could he not know? I wondered. It is really important that the proper diagnoses is given and that the person receiving the information understands what is being told to him or her.

So, now I have joined the many people who live under the sun, with a piece of skin chopped out or off my nose, waiting for further results.

I cannot express how important it is to get your skin checked, frequently the sooner the better. I am only 1 of 3 people that I know who have recently lost pieces of their skin to SCC, my case being the smallest. The sooner you get your skin checked the better the result!

About Jennifer Carter

I am currently undertaking a PhD on End of Life studies. I have created this blog to discuss with you matters related to end of life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

