Marching forward…

I decided to post again this month,  as the link in my thesis led me to my blog, and I wanted to check that it was working. It is really good to share all these incredible struggles that I go through not only to look back and see that although at the time of writing some issues seem impossible to get over, when looking back they have resolved and morphed into a new form. But also, so that others who are undertaking a PhD know that this is the process. That you are not going crazy, that your topic is still worthwhile, even though after writing and writing and getting lost in the words in the end it does make some sense.

I find it is a good practice for me to rest for a couple of days then go back and see if what I have been steeped in is making sense. Otherwise, there is a tendency for me to get lost in an information avalanche. Thinking back to actually being fluent in typing correctly is a real gift, especially in this age of technology where everything is typed. Typing was the first skill I learnt as a wee thing, 16 years old, just out of school and working in an office. My sister and I were living by ourselves and we had to find some way of coping in an adult world. We went to typing school, I soon dropped out when I lost interest and found that I just couldn’t get the words to match my fingers tapping. My sister who is a year older seemed to be able to coordinate the tapping with the letters and she managed to make fewer mistakes.

I do think for anyone who is contemplating writing a thesis learning how to move your fingers with your thoughts is a must and the reason that I have been able to write so many words at speed of thought goes with learning how to type. If I had to physically write every word, and rewrite mistakes and then rewrite the final form it would be impossible as arthritis has a hold on my hands making writing almost impossible, and certainly not possible at the speed that I can think  and type.

Nevertheless this skill is more valuable today years after I originally learnt it, it just goes to show that every learned skill is never wasted, and that I can type much faster now than I could at 16. I have had a few days off, at yet another concert. Lucky me!

This time to Adelaide, the most important thing to me about these concerts is that besides the music I get some important concentrated family time with my sons and daughters. The best time ever, which would not materialise if I didn’t make an effort to travel to distant places and spend quality time with them away from their usual daily activities. These are the days that I recall the most in my life, not the days I spend typing at the keyboard but the days shared with my family where we get to laugh and eat together and have some fun. Rufus Wainwright was of course just the best, his opera was magical and his rendition of ‘Somewhere Over the Rainbow’ was touching.

The Adelaide orchestra was fantastic and it was real pleasure to be immersed in the live music, strings, and keys all making an impressive sound. I also have new job, woo hoo, I didn’t think that would happen, it is online and fantastic to have work from home. I can swap from my class to my thesis without leaving this space, lucky me.

That’s right, up close and personal with Rufus, in his ruby shoes singing,  best night ever.

 

IMG_8532

 

 

About Jennifer Carter

I am currently undertaking a PhD on End of Life studies. I have created this blog to discuss with you matters related to end of life.
This entry was posted in about that thesis, family matters, living at the end of life, Nursing, Uncategorized, writing a thesis in a bush setting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

