On my feet

On my feet again, it’s been a difficult few months hobbling around. Now, I really am greatful to have two working legs.

I am getting ready to travel to a conference in Canada to present my final research findings. This will be the culmination of my research and I hope that I can succinctly deliver the important points from a huge theses in half an hour. I guess I’ll find out soon.

I have just completed a draft chapter for a book and I’m waiting to hear back from the reviewers. It is well worth the effort to see my research being published. My theses seems to be in limbo. Somewhere between the final draft and lots of red lines. Ho hum, it is incredible to think that after all that writing it sits, gathering dust and cobwebs waiting to be reviewed in between edits. No matter when I thought I’d be finished it remains up to others to have the final say. So I will give it a rest for awhile, at least until after my trip to Canada.

The good thing about writing and researching so much is that there is a lot of information that can gathered to inform others as the hard work has been done.

Last month I travelled to New Zealand for a family funeral. It is a pity that most of us are so busy that time spent with extended family members is only put aside for weddings and funerals. I met some family members that I have never previously seen. It was a great few days visiting my childhood neighbourhood. And generally resting up for my next travel epic. This is a photo of my family home many years ago in Auckland. I’m sure if the walls could speak there would be many stories to tell. It was the last place that I saw my father alive, when I was six years old.

IMG_9702.PNG

 

About Jennifer Carter

I am currently undertaking a PhD on End of Life studies. I have created this blog to discuss with you matters related to end of life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

